Area Code 218

Area Code 218 is officially in Minnesota

Other Minnesota Area Codes
218, 320, 507, 612, 651, 763, 924, 952

Area Code 218 History:

Area code 218 was officially put into service on 01/01/1947. Area code 218 and area code 612 were the first two area codes put into service in Minnesota.

In 1954 area code 218, along with 612, were split to form area code 507.

Counties in Minnesota officially within area code 218 include:

Aitkin County, Becker County, Beltrami County, Carlton County, Cass County, Clay County, Clearwater County, Cook County, Crow Wing County, Douglas County, Grant County, Hubbard County, Itasca County, Kittson County, Koochiching County, Lake County, Lake of the Woods County, Mahnomen County, Marshall County, Morrison County, Norman County, Otter Tail County, Pennington County, Pine County, Polk County, Red Lake County, Roseau County, Saint Louis County, Todd County, Traverse County, Wadena County, and Wilkin County.

Major cities or places in Minnesota officially within area code 218 include:

Area code 218 serves northern Minnesota including the larger communities of Andover, Duluth, Hibbing and Moorhead, as well as, many smaller communities in northern Minnesota.

Minnesota Area Code Map