Roosevelt Island, New York Area Code

Roosevelt Island, NY Area Codes are

212, 347, 646, 718, 917 and 929

Roosevelt Island, NY is officially utilizing an area code overlay in which area codes 212, 646 and 917 serve the same geographic area. The area code overlay was established in 1999 at which time area code 646 was created as an overlay of area codes 212 and 917. In 1984 area code 917 was created as an overlay of area code 212. Area Code 212 was created in 1947 and was one of the original area codes assigned to New York. Ten digit dialing (area code + seven digit number) is necessary because three different homes in the same geographic area can have the same seven digit phone number but each would have a different area code.

In addition to Roosevelt Island, NY area code 212 serves only Manhattan and is overlaid with area codes 646 and 917. Area code 917 is used primarily for mobile devices but is assignable to landlines when needed.

Roosevelt Island, NY is located in New York County and observes the Eastern Time Zone. View our Times by Area Code tool.

New York Area Code Map