Area Code 861

Area Code 861 is in Illinois

Other Illinois Area Codes
217, 224, 309, 312, 331, 447, 464, 618, 630, 708, 730, 773, 779, 815, 847, 861, 872

Illinois Area Code Overlays
(847 and 224) - (815 and 779)
(630 and 331) - (312 and 872)
(773 and 872) - (217 and 447)
(708 and 464) - (309 and 861)

Area Code 861 History:


Area code 861 was put into service as an all services overlay of area code 309. Area code 861 will only become available to subscribers when all assignable central office codes in area code 309 are assigned. Ten digit dialing (area code + seven digit number) will be necessary in the 309/861 overlay because different homes in the same geographic area can have the same seven digit phone number but each would have a different area code.

Counties in Illinois within area code 861 include:

Bureau County, Dewitt County, Fulton County, Hancock County, Henderson County, Henry County, Knox County, Marshall County, Mason County, McDonough County, McLean County, Mercer County, Peoria County, Rock Island County, Schuyler County, Stark County, Tazewell County, Warren County, Whiteside County, and Woodford County.

Major cities or places in Illinois within area code 861 include:

Area code 861 serves a portion of west-central Illinois including the larger cities and communities of Bloomington, Canton, Galesburg, Macomb, East Moline, East Peoria, Galesburg, Moline, Normal, Pekin, Peoria, and Rock Island in addition to many smaller communities.

Area Code Look Up - Select An Area Code To Find Its Location