Area Code 618

Area Code 618 is in Illinois

Other Illinois Area Codes
217, 224, 309, 312, 331, 447, 464, 618, 630, 708, 730, 773, 779, 815, 847, 861, 872

Illinois Area Code Overlays
(847 and 224) - (815 and 779)
(630 and 331) - (312 and 872)
(773 and 872) - (217 and 447)
(708 and 464) - (309 and 861)

Area Code 618 History:

Area code 618 was officially put into service.

Counties in Illinois within area code 618 include:

Alexander County, Bond County, Calhoun County, Clay County, Clinton County, Crawford County, Edwards County, Effingham County, Fayette County, Franklin County, Gallatin County, Greene County, Hamilton County, Hardin County, Jackson County, Jasper County, Jefferson County, Jersey County, Johnson County, Lawrence County, Macoupin County, Madison County, Marion County, Massac County, Monroe County, Perry County, Pope County, Pulaski County, Randolph County, Richland County, Saint Clair County, Saline County, Shelby County, Union County, Wabash County, Washington County, Wayne County, White County, and Williamson County.

Major cities or places in Illinois within area code 618 include:

Area code 618 serves a large area of southern Illinois including the larger cities and communities of Belleville, Carbondale, Collinsville, East St. Louis, Edwardsville, Granite City and O'Fallon in addition to many smaller communities within the area code 618 service area.

The Illinois Commerce Commission (ICC) has approved area code 730 as an all services overlay of area code 618 with an implementation date of 7/07/2023. Area code 730 will only become available to subscribers when all assignable central office codes in area code 618 are assigned. Ten digit dialing (area code + seven digit number) will be necessary in the 730/618 overlay because different homes in the same geographic area can have the same seven digit phone number but each would have a different area code.

Area Code Look Up - Select An Area Code To Find Its Location