Area Code 839

Area Code 839 is in South Carolina

Other South Carolina Area Codes
803, 839, 843, 854, 864

South Carolina Area Code Overlays
(843 and 854)

Area Code 839 History:

Not yet in service.

The South Carolina Public Service Commission has approved area code 839 as an all services overlay of area code 803 with an implementation date of 05/26/2020. Ten digit dialing (area code + seven digit number) will be necessary in the 803/839 overlay effective April 25, 2020 because different homes in the same geographic area can have the same seven digit phone number but each would have a different area code.

Counties in South Carolina within area code 839 include:

Aiken County, Allendale County, Bamberg County, Barnwell County, Calhoun County, Chester County, Clarendon County, Edgefield County, Fairfield County, Hampton County, Kershaw County, Lancaster County, Lee County, Lexington County, Newberry County, Orangeburg County, Richland County, Saluda County, Sumter County, Union County, and York County.

Major cities or places in South Carolina within area code 839 include:

Area code 839 will cover most of central South Carolina including the larger cities and communities of Aiken, Columbia, Rock Hill and Sumter in addition to many smaller communities within the area code 839 service area.

South Carolina Area Code Map


Area Code Look Up - Select An Area Code To Find Its Location