Area Code 608

Area Code 608 is in Wisconsin

Other Wisconsin Area Codes
262, 274, 353, 414, 534, 608, 715, 920

Wisconsin Area Code Overlays
(534 and 715) - (274 and 920)
(353 and 608)

Area Code 608 History:

Area code 608 was officially put into service. Area code 608 was created from a split of area codes 414 and 715.

Area code 353 was put into service as an all services overlay of area code 608. Area code 353 will only become available to subscribers when all assignable central office codes in area code 608 area code are assigned. Ten digit dialing (area code + seven digit number) is necessary in the 353/608 overlay because different homes in the same geographic area can have the same seven digit phone number but each would have a different area code.

Counties in Wisconsin within area code 608 include:

Adams County, Buffalo County, Columbia County, Crawford County, Dane County, Grant County, Green County, Iowa County, Jackson County, Juneau County, La Crosse County, Lafayette County, Marquette County, Monroe County, Richland County, Rock County, Sauk County, Trempealeau County, and Vernon County.

Major cities or places in Wisconsin within area code 608 include:

Area code 608 serves southwestern Wisconsin including the larger cities and communities of Beloit, Fitchburg, Janesville, La Crosse, Madison, and Sun Prairie in addition to many smaller communities within the area code 608 service area.

Wisconsin Area Code Map