Area Code 517

Area Code 517 is in Michigan

Other Michigan Area Codes
231, 248, 269, 313, 517, 586, 616, 679, 734, 810, 906, 947, 989

Michigan Area Code Overlays
(248 and 947)

Area Code 517 History:

Area code 517 was officially put into service. In 2001 area code 517 was split to form area code 989.

Counties in Michigan within area code 517 include:

Barry County, Branch County, Calhoun County, Clinton County, Eaton County, Hillsdale County, Ingham County, Ionia County, Jackson County, Lenawee County, Livingston County, and Shiawassee County.

Major cities or places in Michigan within area code 517 include:

Area code 517 serves south-central Michigan, including Lansing which is the capital of Michigan, along with the larger cities and communities of Clinton, East Lansing, Jackson, and Okemos, in addition to many smaller communities within the service area.

Michigan Area Code Map