Area Code 231

Area Code 231 is officially in Michigan

Other Michigan Area Codes
231, 248, 269, 313, 517, 586, 616, 679, 734, 810, 906, 947, 989

Michigan Area Code Overlays
(248 and 947)

Area Code 231 History:

Area code 231 was officially put into service. Area code 231 was created from a split of area code 616.

Counties in Michigan officially within area code 231 include:

Antrim County, Benzie County, Charlevoix County, Cheboygan County, Emmet County, Grand Traverse County, Kalkaska County, Kent County, Lake County, Leelanau County, Mackinac County, Manistee County, Mason County, Mecosta County, Missaukee County, Montcalm County, Muskegon County, Newaygo County, Oceana County, Osceola County, Otsego County, and Wexford County.

Major cities or places in Michigan officially within area code 231 include:

Area code 231 serves much of northwestern Michigan south of the Upper Peninsula and includes the larger cities and communities of Big Rapids, Cadillac, Cheboygan, Ludington, Manistee, Muskegon, Norton Shores, Petoskey, Shelby, and Traverse City in addition to many smaller communities.

Michigan Area Code Map