Area Code 405

Area Code 405 is in Oklahoma

Other Oklahoma Area Codes
405, 539, 572, 580, 918

Oklahoma Area Code Overlays
(918 and 539) - (572 and 405)

Area Code 405 History:

Area code 405 was officially put into service. Area code 405 has been split two times. In 1953 area code 405 was split to form area code 918. In 1997 area code 405 was split to form area code 580.

Area code 572 was put into service as an all services overlay of area code 405 on May 24, 2021. Effective April 24, 2021 ten digit dialing (area code + seven digit number) became necessary in the 405/572 overlay because different homes in the same geographic area can have the same seven digit phone number but each would have a different area code.

Counties in Oklahoma within area code 405 include:

Blaine County, Caddo County, Canadian County, Cleveland County, Garvin County, Grady County, Hughes County, Kingfisher County, Lincoln County, Logan County, McClain County, Okfuskee County, Oklahoma County, Payne County, Pottawatomie County, Seminole County, Stephens County, and Washita County.

Major cities or places in Oklahoma within area code 405 include:

Area code 405 serves a large portion of central Oklahoma including Oklahoma City and the larger cities and communities of Bethany, Del City, Edmond, Midwest City, Moore, Norman, Shawnee, and Stillwater in addition to many smaller communities.

Oklahoma Area Code Map