Area Code 250

Area Code 250 is officially in British Columbia

Other British Columbia Area Codes
236, 250, 257, 604, 672, 778

British Columbia Area Code Overlays
(604 and 778 and 236 and 672) - (250 and 778 and 236 and 672)

Area Code 250 History:

Area code 250 was officially put into service. Area code 250 was created from a split of area code 604. In 2008 area code 250 was overlaid with area code 778. Area code 250 serves all of British Columbia except the lower mainland.

Area code 236 was officially put into service as an overlay of area codes 250, 604, and 778 on 06/01/2013 and mandatory 10 digit dialing is required.

Area code 672 was officially put into service as an overlay of area codes 236, 250, 604, and 778 on 05/04/2019.

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) has approved area code 257 as a distributed overlay covering existing area codes 236, 250, 604, 672 and 778 effective 05/24/2025.

Ten digit dialing (area code + seven digit number) is necessary in the 250/778/236 overlay because two different homes in the same geographic area can have the same seven digit phone number but each would have a different area code.

Major cities or places in British Columbia officially within area code 250 include:

Area codes 250 and 778 and 236 serve the larger communities of Campbell River, Cowichan Valley, Dawson Creek, Fort St. John, Kamloops, Kelowna, Nanaimo, Prince George, Prince Rupert, Quesnel, Terrace, Victoria, Vernon, and Williams Lake, along with many smaller communities in British Columbia.

British Columbia Area Code Map