Area Code 229

Area Code 229 is officially in Georgia

Other Georgia Area Codes
229, 404, 470, 478, 678, 706, 762, 770, 912, 943

Georgia Area Code Overlays
(404 and 678 and 470 and 943)
(770 and 678 and 470 and 943)
(706 and 762)

Area Code 229 History:

Area code 229 was officially put into service on 08/01/2000. Area code 229 was created from a split of area code 912.

Counties in Georgia officially within area code 229 include:

Ben Hill County, Berrien County, Brooks County, Calhoun County, Clay County, Colquitt County, Cook County, Crisp County, Decatur County, Dodge County, Dooly County, Dougherty County, Early County, Echols County, Grady County, Irwin County, Lanier County, Lee County, Lowndes County, Marion County, Miller County, Mitchell County, Quitman County, Randolph County, Schley County, Seminole County, Stewart County, Sumter County, Telfair County, Terrell County, Thomas County, Tift County, Turner County, Webster County, Wheeler County, Wilcox County, and Worth County.

Major cities or places in Georgia officially within area code 229 include:

Area code 229 serves most of southwestern Georgia including the larger cities and communities of Albany, Americus, Bainbridge, Moultrie, Thomasville, Tifton, and Valdosta in addition to many smaller communities.

Georgia Area Code Map