Area Code 227

Area Code 227 is officially in Maryland

Other Maryland Area Codes
227, 240, 301, 410, 443, 667

Maryland Area Code Overlays
(301 and 240) - (410 and 443 and 667)

Area Code 227 History:

Area code 227 was put into service as a distributed overlay of area codes 240 and 301 in Maryland. Ten digit dialing (area code + seven digit number) is necessary in the 227/240/301 overlay because different homes in the same geographic area can have the same seven digit phone number but each would have a different area code.

Counties in Maryland officially within area code 227 include:

Allegany County, Anne Arundel County, Calvert County, Charles County, Frederick County, Garrett County, Howard County, Montgomery County, Prince Georges County, Saint Marys County, and Washington County.

Major cities or places in Maryland officially within area code 227 will include:

Area codes 227, 240 and 301 serve central and western Maryland including Bethesda, College Park, Frederick, Gaithersburg, Hagerstown, Landover, Rockville, Silver Springs and Weaton-Glenmont in addition to many smaller communities northwest of Washington, D.C.

Maryland Area Code Map