Area Code 701

Area Code 701 is in North Dakota

Area Code 701 History:

Area code 701 was officially put into service. Area code 701 serves the entire state of North Dakota.

Counties in North Dakota within area code 701 include:

Adams County, Barnes County, Benson County, Billings County, Bottineau County, Bowman County, Burke County, Burleigh County, Cass County, Cavalier County, Dickey County, Divide County, Dunn County, Eddy County, Emmons County, Foster County, Golden Valley County, Grand Forks County, Grant County, Griggs County, Hettinger County, Kidder County, Lamoure County, Logan County, McHenry County, McIntosh County, McKenzie County, McLean County, Mercer County, Morton County, Mountrail County, Nelson County, Oliver County, Pembina County, Pierce County, Ramsey County, Ransom County, Renville County, Richland County, Rolette County, Sargent County, Sheridan County, Sioux County, Slope County, Stark County, Steele County, Stutsman County, Towner County, Traill County, Walsh County, Ward County, Wells County, and Williams County.

Major cities or places in North Dakota within area code 701 include:

Area code 701 serves the larger communities of Bismarck, Fargo, Grand Forks and Minot in addition to many smaller communities within the service area. As a result of significant growth in North Dakota and increased demand for telephone numbers the North Dakota Public Service Commission has considered requesting a new area code assignment for the state either as an overlay or a geographic split.

North Dakota Area Code Map