Area Code 659

Area Code 659 is in Alabama

Other Alabama Area Codes
205, 251, 256, 334, 483, 659, 938

Alabama Area Code Overlays
(256 and 938) - (205 and 659)

Area Code 659 History:


Area code 659 was officially put into service as an all services overlay of area code 205 effective November 12, 2019. Ten digit dialing (area code + seven digit number) is necessary in the 205/659 overlay because different homes in the same geographic area can have the same seven digit phone number but each would have a different area code.

Counties in Alabama within area code 659 include:

Autauga County, Bibb County, Blount County, Chilton County, Choctaw County, Etowah County, Fayette County, Franklin County, Greene County, Hale County, Jefferson County, Lamar County, Marion County, Pickens County, Saint Clair County, Shelby County, Sumter County, Tuscaloosa County, Walker County, and Winston County.

Major cities or places in Alabama within area code 659 include:

Area code 659 serves west central Alabama including the communities of Alabaster, Bessemer, Birmingham, Center Point, Homewood, Hover, Jasper, Mountain Brook, Tuscalloosa, and Vestavia Hills in addition to many smaller communities.

Alabama Area Code Map