Area Code 609

Area Code 609 is in New Jersey

Other New Jersey Area Codes
201, 551, 609, 640, 732, 848, 856, 862, 908, 973

New Jersey Area Code Overlays
(201 and 551) - (609 and 640)
(732 and 848) - (973 and 862 )

Area Code 609 History:

Area code 609 was officially put into service. Area code 609 was created from a split of area code 201. In 1999 area code 609 was split to form area code 856.

On September 17, 2018 area code 640 was officially put into service as an all services overlay of area code 609. Effective 08/18/2018 ten digit dialing (area code + seven digit number) became necessary in the 609/640 overlay because different homes in the same geographic area can have the same seven digit phone number but each would have a different area code.

Counties in New Jersey within area code 609 include:

Atlantic County, Monmouth County, Cape May County, Ocean County, Burlington County, Somerset County, Middlesex County, Mercer County, and Hunterdon County.

Major cities or places in New Jersey within area code 609 include:

Area code 609 serves central and southeastern New Jersey including the larger cities and communities of Atlantic City, Ewing, Trenton and Willingboro in addition to many smaller communities within the area code 609 service area.

New Jersey Area Code Map