Area Code 480

Area Code 480 is in Arizona

Other Arizona Area Codes
480, 520, 602, 623, 928

Area Code 480 History:

Area code 480 was officially put into service. Area code 480 was created from a split of area code 602.

Counties in Arizona within area code 480 include:

Maricopa County and Pinal County.

Major cities or places in Arizona within area code 480 include:

Area code 480 serves the eastern metropolitan area of Phoenix including the larger cities and communities of Chandler, Fountain Hills, Gilbert, Mesa, Paradise Valley, Scottsdale and Tempe in addition to many smaller communities.

On November 9, 2021 the Arizona Corporation Commission announced that effective 09/12/2023 the boundary lines between area codes 480, 602 and 623 will be eliminated.

As a result the three area codes will be consider area code overlays in the geographic area now served by 480, 602 and 623.

These area codes are currently used by the city of Phoenix and surround communities Chandler, Gilbert, Mesa, Tempe, Scottsdale, and Sun Lakes in the counties of Maricopa and Pinal. On August 12, 2023 mandatory 10 digit dialing will be required in area codes 480, 602 and 623

Arizona Area Code Map