Area Code 986

Area Code 986 is in Idaho

Other Idaho Area Codes
208, 986

Idaho does not currently utilize any area code overlays, however an area code overlay will be introduced in 2017.

Area Code 986 History:

Not yet in Service

Area code 986 has been approved by the Idaho Public Utilities Commission as an overlay of area code 208 with an implementation date of September 5, 2017. Effective 08/05/2017 ten digit dialing (area code + seven digit number) will be necessary in the 208/986 overlay because different homes in the same geographic area can have the same seven digit phone number but each would have a different area code. Area codes 208 and 986 will serve the entire state of Idaho.

Counties in Idaho within area code 986 include:

Ada County, Adams County, Bannock County, Bear Lake County, Benewah County, Bingham County, Blaine County, Boise County, Bonner County, Bonneville County, Boundary County, Butte County, Camas County, Canyon County, Caribou County, Cassia County, Clark County, Clearwater County, Custer County, Elmore County, Franklin County, Fremont County, Gem County, Gooding County, Idaho County, Jefferson County, Jerome County, Kootenai County, Latah County, Lemhi County, Lewis County, Lincoln County, Madison County, Minidoka County, Nez Perce County, Oneida County, Owyhee County, Payette County, Power County, Shoshone County, Teton County, Twin Falls County, Valley County, and Washington County.

Major cities or places in Idaho within area code 986 include:

Area code 986 will serve the larger cities of Caldwell, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho Falls, Lewiston, Meridian, Moscow, Mountain Home, Nampa, Pocatello and Twin Falls.

Idaho Area Code Map

Area Code Look Up - Select An Area Code To Find Its Location