Area Code 860

Area Code 860 is in Connecticut

Other Connecticut Area Codes
203, 475, 860

Connecticut Area Code Overlays
203 and 475

Area Code 860 History:

Area code 860 was put into service. Area code 860 was created from a split of area code 203

Area code 959 has been approved as an overlay of area code 860 by the Connecticut Public Utility Regulatory Authority with an implementation date of August 30, 2014. Ten digit dialing in the 860 and 959 area codes will be mandatory.

Ten digit dialing (area code + seven digit number) is necessary in the 860/959 overlay because two different homes in the same geographic area can have the same seven digit phone number but each would have a different area code.

Counties in Connecticut within area code 860 include:

Hartford County, Litchfield County, Middlesex County, New London County, Tolland County, and Windham County.

Major cities or places in Connecticut within area code 860 include:

Area code 860 covers most of Connecticut, except the southwest portion of the state which uses area codes 203 and 475, including the larger cities and communities of Bristol, Central Manchester, East Hartford, Hartford, Middletown, New Britian, New London, Norwich, Torrington, West Hartford and Wethersfield in addition to many smaller communities within the area code 860 service area.

Connecticut Area Code Map

Area Code Look Up - Select An Area Code To Find Its Location